CISM Certified: Should I?

1 min read

The Certified Information Systems Manager (CISM) qualification, provided by ISACA, is a certification for IT security managers that focuses on information risk management, information security governance, incident management, and developing and managing an information security program. To obtain the CISM qualification, individuals must pass a multiple-choice exam and demonstrate relevant experience in an information security management role. The qualification requires adherence to the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics and continuing professional education (CPE) requirements. The syllabus is divided into four domains: information security governance, information security risk management, information security program, and incident management. CISM is suitable for IT auditors and assurance professionals and can be a stepping stone to transitioning into information security management or cybersecurity disciplines. The certification requires ongoing CPD to maintain it. Individuals can use the letters “CISM” after their names. To get started with a CISM certification, individuals can visit the CISM pages on the ISACA website and enroll.

Previous Story

EML Australia’s alleged 2022 breach led to a data leak

Next Story

Record-breaking $11 billion paid for ransomware in 2023, defying decline

Latest from News

US sanctions Kaspersky Lab for Russia ties

TLDR: The Biden administration announced sanctions against 12 executives and senior leaders of Kaspersky Lab, a Russia-based cybersecurity company. The Commerce Department banned Kaspersky